Modifying Dominant Cultural Narratives and Finding Childfree Meaning

Danny Kaye creativity quote

It goes without saying that having children has historically given many people a sense of immortality, purpose and meaning. That’s excellent and I celebrate that.

That being said, I love the linked video below but as someone who has chosen not to have children I find myself often having to reinterpret cultural narratives relating to the meaning of life, for myself if no one else, especially when those narratives are as child-centric as this one happens to be. I can appreciate the idea that the children mentioned need not be my own but sometimes these narratives do feel exclusionary.

As someone who is childfree and artistic, I feel that art is my child and this comic resonates immensely with my lived experience. I also think this comic is applicable to anyone, awake, growing and living authentically:

enhanced-buzz-31244-1386546792-8

(Image credit: http://dorrismccomics.com/)

Do me a favor, think of your mentors, professors, friends, counselors, teachers and colleagues. Even if you aren’t blood related, people impact you, people impact me.

When listening to this video’s wisdom, I would rather we envision and embrace the myriad ofย  ways in which we “pass torches.” Let’s not sell ourselves, short, whether we are biological parents or not, there are many “torches” to be passed in our shared world:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qK1BJkBJdtY#t=66

Wishing you all peace, wherever your paths do take you.

Songbird Sparkle (April)

2 thoughts on “Modifying Dominant Cultural Narratives and Finding Childfree Meaning

  1. Apparently there is research showing that fertility rates are higher when the mortality rates are also higher, especially if infant/child death rates are higher, so good point. This is very noticeable when you look at Japan where women are suddenly more career-focused and have no interest in babbies, there seems to be less interest in making motherhood more career-friendly than the vast majority of other countries too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is interesting, motherhood is not well accommodated in many countries. I don’t think I really thought about it until considering having children and reading “The Mommy Myth” by Susan Douglas. I have read articles about Japanese culture and the rise of those who are also choosing not to have children. I found this particularly interesting:

    http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2012/jun/08/why-japan-prefers-pets-to-parenthood

    Like

Leave a Reply

